Exploring the Inspiration Further

To conclude my initial visual research, I decided to branch out from the 3 main sources of inspiration given in the brief. I stuck within the parameters of the styles suggested but looked into other, similar, works to see how that style has evolved and can evolve.

I explored the works of the main artists who worked on Dota 2 to get a sense of their individual subsets of that iconic style which I might explore in my work. I also explored other works which used stylised and cartoony styles for similar reasons, focusing mostly on video games such as WoW, Darksiders, and Rayman but also looking into comics and other medias.

5- dota artists

[Above: Other Work by the artists behind Dota 2]

6- similar styles

[Above: Art featuring styles similar to those of the main sources of inspiration]

Posted on October 1, 2014, in Research, Semester 1. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Comments are closed.

