John Blanche

Looking at Ashley Wood’s portfolio reminded me of an artist whom I practically grew up with through my Warhammer years, John Blanch.

jb 2

Whilst his style is not quite the same as Wood’s (varying from very rough and messy to almost too neat in it’s shapes) his use of colour is very similar.

jb 1

Similar to Ashley Wood, John Blanche likes to fill in most of the image with orange/sepia tones. He then uses bolder colours (red, black, and white being his favourites) to pick out details in the characters present and draw attention to them. I think I will find this a very useful technique in my final images (especially if I go with my idea of conflicting elements, which will be discussed later) and will really help to make them ‘pop’.

jb 3

Posted on October 6, 2014, in Research, Semester 1. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Comments are closed.

