Ashley Wood Palette Analysis

ashley wood colour study

I have decided to make my main source of inspiration from Ashley Wood his use of colour. As I have mention before, much of his work uses a simple tonal range with a single spot colour to attract attention to a particular point. This can be seen in the above palette breakdowns.

In most of them he favours sepia tones to build the majority of the image, with a darker black/brown used to create exaggerated depth in shadows. He then adds a bolder colour to the character to make them pop out (often red but not always). If I continue with my idea of a fire and ice clash between my characters this application of colour could prove very useful. I believe it will also work well with the other styles to make the characters more dynamic.

Posted on October 14, 2014, in Analysis, Semester 1. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Comments are closed.

