Character Pose Sketches

With the Painted Character Sheets completely and the design of each character now designed and rendered fully I set about sketching ideas for my Character Pose Sheets. From the design of each character I felt I already had a good idea of how they would move and interact with the world.

Protagonist

Although tall, the Protagonist is very lithe and I imagine would be very agile, favouring quick movements and avoiding opponents. I took a lot of inspiration for the fight scenes in 300, and also the duel between Prince Obyron and The Mountain in Game of Thrones.

Protag moodboard

I wanted the poses to be striking and dynamic, but also easy to read. For the most part this meant avoiding awkward angles and sticking to front or side. I kept the sketches quite loose and quick, not worrying about fine details in anatomy at this point and instead focusing on the shape and flow of the poses.Protag pose sketches 1 Protag pose sketches 2

I think from these the Block pose and either the Throw or Thrust pose convey her character best. I like the Throw pose, but I’m not so sure the spear she wields is the kind you throw. The Thrust pose on the other hand needs a lot of refining with how the body twists.

Antagonist

The Antagonist is large and brutish. He would be slow and need to gain momentum, but once he does he hits like a truck. For inspiration I looked a lot at the various iterations of the Hulk, as well as other brutish creatures.Antag moodboard

Again I kept the sketches very loose and dynamic, trying to fill the movements with character rather than accuracy.Antag pose sketches 1 Antag pose sketches 2

For the Antagonist I really like the Crouch pose (not Crouch 2) and the Jump/Smash pose as I believe these poses convey his aggressive nature. As with the Protagonist however they do need refined.

Posted on December 4, 2014, in Development. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Character Pose Sketches.

Comments are closed.

