Looking More at Drawing with Tone

I was introduced to this video which further discusses the ideas and techniques Ryan discussed.

It’s strange, I am no stranger to painting- having spent a long time working with oils before I even touched digital painting- but I never considered the techniques being compatible with my sketching.

With oil paints I get rough lines in for placement/reference, then just start throwing paint on canvas relevant to tone and shade areas.

When I sketch though I slowly build up form and shape with lots light lines, I draw symbols. Then I erase the symbol by filling in the shadow. As you can imagine this is very time consuming and pernickety, especially when strong lights and shadows are present.

I am definitely taking a liking to this method however, and plan to alter the arsenal within my pencil case to better suit it. Of course, it will take some time to get used to the lack of reference lines again as I haven’t painted with oils in a few years, but I can definitely see both the speed and quality of my work improving.

I might actually be able to live draw now….

Posted on February 1, 2015, in Techniques & Research. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Looking More at Drawing with Tone.

Comments are closed.

