Week 4’s Portrait Sketches

This weeks sketchbook dump coming right up!

scan 1

I didnt get as much life/live drawing done this week as I would have liked and definitely need to improve on this. Drawing from photos is fine but seeing the head in 3d helps so much in recognising and avoiding flaws. I have been using photos of faces I am familiar with in an attempt to counteract this, to varying degrees of success.

scan 2

 

I realise I am still struggling a bit with faces, especially when awkward angles or strong expression are present. It seems I get worse the longer I consistently draw too, 3 portraits with 15 minute breaks between end up much better than 3 drawn right after each other. However this is merely down to my concentration and not something any technique or tutorial can magically solve.scan 3

Whilst this new method of drawing technique is certainly improving my speed and skills, I really must begin looking at tutorials and methods employed by other artists if I want to seriously improve. At this point it is 50/50 if the portrait ends up looking good at the end, and I need to study and understand the face in order to rise above this.

Posted on February 6, 2015, in Sketchbook Portraits. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Week 4’s Portrait Sketches.

Comments are closed.

