Photostudy 7

Tom 7

I’m a bit late in posting this but another photostudy is complete! Although I am less than happy with this one. I dont know what happened but I just could not get any life into this one. There are some anatomy issues (the eyes are slightly disproportional for one thing), but I think its the colours and brushwork that kill the image.

I was too focused on trying to copy the photo-reference that I did not stand back and think about what I was trying to paint. Because the photo was taken in poor lighting the skin tones were quite ugly tobacco-ochre tones, and between trying to copy the image and trying to make the subject look healthy everything just got really muddy and confused.

There brushstrokes as well let the piece down in that there aren’t any. They all just combine into irregular blocks of tone and shade. As a result the face just looks flat and lifeless.

So where do I go from here? Well while I will still be using photo-references I don’t think I will focus on mimicking them to such a fervent degree. Rather I will use them as a base and develop my style and artistic freedom on top of them. It’s a bit of a gamble, it could go very bad, but it will hopefully pay off and grant me some great portraits.

A WiP can be found here.

Posted on March 5, 2015, in Friend Studies. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Photostudy 7.

Comments are closed.

